Jump to ContentJump to Main Navigation
Penelope Fitzgerald - Liverpool Scholarship Online
Users without a subscription are not able to see the full content.

Penelope Fitzgerald

Hugh Adlington


Penelope Fitzgerald (1916-2000) has been acclaimed as one of the finest novelists of the late-twentieth century. Four of her novels were shortlisted for the Booker Prize. One of them, Offshore (1979), won. Her final work of historical fiction, The Blue Flower (1995), won the US National Book Critics’ Circle Award. Fitzgerald’s works are distinguished by their acute wit, deft handling of emotional tone and an unsentimental yet deeply felt commitment to portraying the lives of those men, women and children ’who seem to have been born defeated’. Admirers have long recognized the brilliance of Fit ... More

Keywords: Penelope Fitzgerald, The Blue Flower, Offshore, style, compositional method

Bibliographic Information

Print publication date: 2018 Print ISBN-13: 9780746312957
Published to Liverpool Scholarship Online: September 2019 DOI:10.3828/liverpool/9780746312957.001.0001


Affiliations are at time of print publication.

Hugh Adlington, author